Power, Empire and US elections

0
52


On November 3, around 140 million US citizens will vote in an election with consequences for almost 8 billion people. In the midst of a deadly pandemic and a horrific economic crisis, led by an incumbent authoritarian president who openly incites violence, racism and xenophobia and has refused even to commit to a peaceful transfer of power, the global stakes in the US 2020 elections couldn’t be higher. 

We know the crisis will not end quickly or easily, even with a new president and new congress. So we need to examine what will change after the elections, and what will not, at least for a while. What will be required to achieve the changes we so urgently need?

How will they reshape geopolitics and global governance, for poverty and war, for migration and climate, for democracy and tyranny around the world? What will the elections mean for the current set of authoritarian rulers around the world, and what will they mean for progressive forces worldwide? What will be the challenges and opportunities for campaigns committed to social and environmental justice?

16:30 (CET Brussels), 07:30 (Los Angeles), 10:30 (EST, New York), 21:00 (IST, Mumbai) 10 November 2020

 

 

Panelists:
 

  • Phyllis Bennis, New Internationalism Project at Institute for Policy Studies, author of Challenging Empire: How People, Governments and the UN Defy U.S. Power
  • Walden Bello, TNI associate & author of Paper Dragons: China and the Next Crash (2019) and Capitalism’s Last Stand?: Deglobalization in the Age of Austerity (2013)

  • Cathy Feingold, Director of the AFL-CIO’s International Department, Deputy President of the International Trade Union Confederation

Moderator: Laura Flanders, journalist and host of the Laura Flanders Show



Read More: Power, Empire and US elections

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.